How to Join the Alliance of Aboriginal Media Professionals

The history of the Alliance of Aboriginal Media Professionals (AAMP) goes back to 2010 when a group of Aboriginal producers, writers and directors came together to advocate for increased funding at the Canadian Television Fund. As a result of our lobby efforts, the CTF (now the Canada Media Fund) increased the Aboriginal Language fund by $2 million and the amount of funding producers could access from $200,000 to $400,000 per project. We discovered the power of working together as a group to advocate for our production community.

Since then, about 65 First Nations, Inuit and Metis media professionals have joined AAMP. On February 26, 2013 our group became a registered not-for-profit corporation. Five members of AAMP volunteered to be on the first board of directors — Greg Coyes (Scorched Wood Productions), Jason Brennan (Nish Media), Tina Keeper (Kistikan Films), Ralph Brown (Waterfront Productions) and Barbara Hager (Aarrow Productions).

In the months ahead, the directors will work with volunteers to set up a membership structure and prepare by-laws. At the first annual general meeting, members will have the opportunity to nominate and elect a full board of directors that will represent every region in Canada.

But first we need to demonstrate to Canadian broadcasters and funding agencies that the Aboriginal film community is unified. You can play a role by joining AAMP. If you were already signed up with the previous AAMP, you can transfer your membership by typing your name, email address, website (if you have one) and a comment at the end of this message. If you sign up before April 15, 2013, you will receive a free one-year membership in AAMP. If this is the first time that you’re joining AAMP, please take a moment to take our members survey which will also register you as a member. The confidential survey is at:

Please take the time right now to join the new Alliance of Aboriginal Media Professionals. Over the past decade there has been a significant increase in capacity among Aboriginal producers, and we must take this opportunity to articulate strong, clear goals that reflect our vital place in the cultural and creative landscape of Canada. We have much to gain by standing together.

Thank you!

Greg Coyes, Ralph Brown, Barbara Hager, Jason Brennan and Tina Keeper



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s